Home » Archives » Frank McDermott Baggy Blue

Frank McDermott Receives his Baggy Blue

296th “Baggy Blue” to Frank McDermott

In 1956, popular Club Member Frank McDermott was selected for the first time to shoot in the NSW State Team, becoming the 296th shooter to represent the state.

Frank McDermott, 296th member of the New South Wales Rifle Team


On Saturday 19th May 2006, Frank was presented with his Baggy Blue by Tony McGuigan, coach of the current state team.

During his shooting career, Frank has represented his state with distinction on many occasions and has been recognised as a champion team shooter for over 40 years.

Mosman Neutral Bay members have made a major contribution to the success of NSW teams over the years as shooters , coaches and administrators.

Other current Club Members who have received their Baggy Blues are Graeme Berman, Karen Berman, Steve Negus, Wendy McGuigan, Tony McGuigan, Neil Gibbins and Andrew Wilson.

Baggy Blue

The Baggy Blue is an initiative by the NSWRA to document those who represented the state over the years and recognise them by the creation of a team cap with the NSW Rifle Team emblem as well as an embroided monogram of the number of their selection.

Angus Bell from Port Jackson Rifle Club reviewed the NSWRA records and other sources to produce a definitive list of NSW State Team members dating back to the first team selected in 1861 to compete against the colony of Victoria.